Sign in to follow this  
Holy Smoke

Question about running two PSUs in one system

Holy Smoke    0

Howdy all,

I'm looking to buy a CM Stacker case, and noticed that it is possible to run two PSUs side by side using a supplied dongle. I was wondering if anyone could clear up some of the basics for me, such as:

Can any two PSUs be used together?

Do they need to be the same wattage?

Does their combined power go into the motherboard, or is the second PSU limited to powering devices like fans, hard drives and optical drives?

Is it safe?

The reason I'm asking is because I have a 400w PSU that I've been using for a couple of years, which has a rather weak +12v rail. I do, however, have easy access to a number of old 200-300w PSUs and if I could use one of those to power some/all of my drives, it would save me from buying a new PSU. I also think the biggest question I'd like answered is whether both PSUs will be supplying power to the motherboard, as it seems a bit unsafe.

Thanks in advance

xstax    0

I'm not a Stacker expert but as I was looking into buying one and I'm pretty certain that there's no special requirements for using 2 PSUs other than having 2 PSUs.

Guest Mindless Moron   
Guest Mindless Moron

nope no requirements but be careful you put enough load on both psu's otherwise you will damage your other components, the stacker currently ships with a dongle to fit 2 20pin psu's to you currently cannot get 2 24pin psu's working

Holy Smoke    0

Thanks for the replies. But that leaves the last question: Does the motherboard get the combined current from both PSUs or just from one? If it gets a combined one, is it safe? That is what I'm most concerned about, since, say, if one of the PSUs accidentally becomes unplugged would easily be able to kill the motherboard.