Sign in to follow this  
ID

Sleeving your wires!

ID    0

Hey everyone,

I'm planning on purchasing a sleeving kit (from Vantec) this weekend and installing it to finally finish off my rig. I'm happy with everything else here, and sleeving the wires is the last thing I'd like to do. The only problem is, I've never done this before. With previous systems, I was able to tuck away and tie down most of the wiring, but after an evening of figeting around, it's become apparent that it just won't work this time around. I'm quite nervous over the prospect of sleeving this system: there are A LOT of redundant wiring and molex connectors that I have to sort through (I wasn't the one who wired the system :x ). I suppose much of this thread is aimed at quelling my anxiety, so please bare with me!

I would appreciate some advice from people (who have successfully sleeved their systems) on a couple of points:

• 1. How long did it take you to completely sleeve all of your wiring? How long did you think it would take?
    2. What aspect of sleeving gave you the most trouble? How were you able to solve the problem?
    3. Finally, was there anything in particular you did that you found helped you out the most while you were working on the wiring?

Again, any help will be much appreciated. I'm using a couple of guides posted in a previous thread as reference, but any extra input would be great. Thanks! :D

bronney    0

I cheated sleeving and bought spiral sleeves so I don't have to de-molex.

But one thing I found really useful when sleeving is before you sleeve, hold both molexes and twist the wire group 20+ times until they're tightly twisted.

That way the group will becomes a cylinder when you sleeve and should not kink out when you bend them and it makes sleeving a breeze.

I imagine the vantec kit should included a de-molex tool? Both male and female right?

ID    0
I cheated sleeving and bought spiral sleeves so I don't have to de-molex.