RW Arnold

Fan setup for HAF XB EVO with NO water cooling.

RW Arnold    0

I am an analytical chemist turned teacher, and have used computers since the mid-70's (punched tape, punchcards, 5 1/4" floppy, 3 1/2" floppy, ZIP, CD/DVD, Flash Drive-it's been a long, fun road) but I am a newbie at building one! I am ready to build a non-gaming computer (well, maybe chess, Baldur's Gate, or Red Alert now and then) in a HAF XB EVO case, with a passive CPU cooler (I don't want a fan cooler vibrating ON the motherboard, and I fear Murphy's Law will apply to liquid cooling for me... I love the big XB EVO case with plenty of room for massive passive radiator and lots of fan options.....

I have all the parts: Intel i7-4970S to be cooled by a large passive CPU cooler (NoFan CR80EH), a Corsair RM450 PSU, a Gigabyte Graphics card (Z97X UD5H), 16 Gb of Corsair Dominator (2x8), the latest Samsung M2 SSD (500Gb) on the mobo, one ASUS optical drive, and a WD Black 2 Tb HD. I have a non-OEM Win 7 Pro DVD to install (I don't have a cell phone, either, although I am a ham operator), and I will be connecting a Dell P2715Q and a Unicomp replica of the best keyboard ever (the IBM M keyboard) w/USB, and a wireless mouse.

As you may know, the upper level of the case has two 120mm front fans (which I assume blow IN), a "hole" for a 120mm in back, and an open grille top which will mount a 200mm fan. The lower level has a PSU intake on the bottom, and two side by side 80mm fan holes. I am looking for opinions on what would be best for my setup. I have filters for all the fans, but I have not purchased a 200mm until I determine its usefulness. I just want to keep things as cool as possible with the least vibration, my fans don't need to light up, nor do my memory chips.

I am considering several fan setups (and I don't car that much about noise, I wear closed over-ear headphones a lot):

#1 Front CM fans blowing in, rear 120 mm blowing in, 2 80mm in bottom blowing in, no top fan.