baldan

Xtraflo 120mm - Simply can't install

baldan    0

I bought two case fan Blade Master XtraFlo 120mm and the metal screws that comes with it simply don't fit on the holes of the fan.

The holes are smooth and it is very hard to fasten the metal screws through it, I tried to push it pretty damn hard but it didn't work, and now I have one screw metal stuck on one of the holes.

So I'm wondering, should I buy others metal screws that fits or I am just a noob (and this is my first time trying to install by myself)?

Because I don't want to break it, but these things simply can't fit, god I'm sad now.

world    84

Almost all case fans use smooth plastic holes and metal screws, so you have to push pretty hard to get the screws in. Pretty much everyone uses the typical screw, so it's a bit difficult to find a good alternative. 

One way I can think of to get around this is to go to a hardware store and buy a bolt that's long enough to go completely through the fan and whatever you're mounting it on, and then buy a nut to hold the end. In certain situations, this method might not work well due to the nuts/bolts getting in the way of stuff, but in most cases, this should work.

• Upvote 1

baldan    0

One way I can think of to get around this is to go to a hardware store and buy a bolt that's long enough to go completely through the fan and whatever you're mounting it on, and then buy a nut to hold the end. In certain situations, this method might not work well due to the nuts/bolts getting in the way of stuff, but in most cases, this should work.

Ok, I think I have everything here so I'll give it a shot.

And about the standard solution (using typical screw), right now the screw is half way on the hole, he's missing like 3mm to completely pass through the hole, should I push and try to get it done? I don't know if the plastic will break, because the hole is almost on the edge of the plastic, so... yeah, first time installing fans. =[

Btw, thanks for helping me.