strawman

Serious PSU bussiness! Help on V-series questions.

strawman    1

I have build a few mining rigs (cryptocurrency mining) past months and on my last order on PSU's when I couldnt order my preffered brand I got my hands on 3 Coolermaster V850 units.
I had only 1 in action so far since I'm waiting for a cable order from china but since my order arrived I'm about to scale up my mining operation. 
So my design right now is any z87motherboard I can get which supports more than 4 graphic cards, 2x PSU's (1000w+650w/850w-depending on gpu's), 5-6 GPU's - 280x, 290...

Now since I was pleased with the stability of my first V850 I ordered 8x v850 gold psu's from a german seller who claimed he can deliver within a week.

But this is where the problems come in.
Since I only use z87 motherboards with i5/i7 motherboards so I can resell the gear easier and have a more stable and powerefficient plattform. I started running gameservers on the cpus since they only idle around.
When I setup the only rig which is running a v850, the psu started to make weird electrical noises - sort of clicking. 

The affected machine specs:

asus z87 pro

i5 4670

3x r9 280x

8 gig ram

samsung 840 pro ssd

CM v850

I checked what I draw from the wall and it was 685 - 720 Watts (this value goes up and down because of cpu usage).

I then swapped it for a 860watt psu from another brand and everything was fine. Now I tested the other 2 V850 and all did the same nose when going above 700 watts. The funny thing is that when i up the vddc on my gpus so I pull 750watts the v850 has no problem with that but when I use the cpu and reach 700watts its game over..the psu's cant deliver enough voltage and the thing starts clicking + the gpus wont get enough power.

That confused me because I run a few psu's and each of them is running on its max, for example a 2x 280x rig with an older i7950 no ssd but hdd...powerdraw from the wall 612-635 watt on a 4 year old 650w PSU (also gold standard).